What are the 7 Chakras? + How They Function From Root to Crown

The term chakra was first mentioned in the Vedas, spiritual texts dating back to around 1500-1000 BC. The word is Sanskrit for wheel and each chakra is a different point of significant energy in the body.

The chakras need to be reopened and realigned regularly in order to keep you in optimal health. Each chakra aligns with a certain area of the body, often with links to organs and nerves too. An imbalance of your chakras can lead to mental, emotional, and physical discomfort.

Some people say there are as many as 114 chakras in the body, but generally, only the 7 mentioned below are focused on. Each chakra has a corresponding color and meaning. The colors used are the same as those found in the rainbow. 

It is believed that if your chakras are blocked the hue and clarity of the chakra colors will be altered. 

Crown (Sahasrara)

This chakra can be found on the very top of your skull. It is linked to the colors violet and white, and the qualities of intelligence and awareness. It is linked to all of the other chakras in your body, impacting the brain, nervous system, and all of your organs. The crown chakra is linked to enlightenment, representing our link to the spiritual realms and our life’s purpose. 

A blocked crown chakra can mean you come across as stubborn, skeptical, and narrow-minded. If it is open and in alignment then your other chakras should be open too. This allows you to be more spiritually open and ready for enlightenment. 

The best yoga pose to strengthen your crown chakra is Savasana or corpse pose. This allows you to focus on reconnecting to your soul and building a connection to your body. 

Third Eye (Ajna)

This chakra can be found in between your eyebrows. It is sometimes referred to as the brow chakra for this reason. It is linked to the color indigo, intuition, and imagination. 

A blocked third eye chakra can lead to headaches, brain fog, blurred vision, and issues with hearing. If you feel out of touch with your intuition or reality, it is likely that you are suffering from a blockage. 

An open and aligned third eye chakra will give you the confidence to follow your intuition and will allow you to look at problems with perspective. 

Yoga poses to strengthen your third eye chakra are forward fold and folded eagle poses. These allow you to foster a connection between your upper and lower body – your dreams and your reality. 

Throat (Vishuddha)

Your throat chakra is located in your throat. It is linked to the color blue and good interpersonal communication. 

Throat chakra blockages can lead to issues with your voice, throat, mouth, teeth, and gums. It can also lead to you dominating conversations, speaking before you think, gossiping, and being distrustful. 

An aligned throat chakra will help you to be confident and compassionate in the way you communicate. You will speak only the truth, and the good intentions will shine through. 

Yoga poses to strengthen your throat chakra are plow and fish poses. These open up the back and sides of your neck, where the throat chakra is found. 

Heart (Anahata)

As you can probably guess, this chakra is found in the center of your chest, near to the heart. It is found in the center of the 7 chakras and acts as a kind of bridge between the upper and lower chakras. For this reason, it is often seen as representative of our ability to love and connect to other people. It is linked to the color green and feelings of love and compassion. 

A heart chakra blockage can lead to weight struggles, asthma, and heart issues. Common heart chakra blockages present with more emotional than physical symptoms. People with heart chakra blockages tend to be overly giving and do not take enough care of themselves. A heart chakra blockage can cause you to feel isolated, insecure, and alone. 

Yoga poses to strengthen your heart chakra are camel, wheel, cow face, and humble warrior poses. These all open your chest and upper body to receive the energy from others more willingly. 

Solar plexus (Manipura)

This chakra is found around your stomach, in the upper region of your abdomen. It is strongly associated with the color yellow and feelings of confidence and general self-esteem. 

If you are experiencing a solar plexus blockage then you may notice digestive system discomfort. This could be heartburn, indigestion, ulcers, and even eating disorders. 

This chakra has strong ties to how we feel and present ourselves to the world. Yoga poses to strengthen your solar plexus chakra are boat and triangle poses. These will all work on your abs to build up core strength and balance. 

Sacral (Svadhisthana)

This chakra is located between your pelvis and your belly button. It is linked to the color orange, sexuality, pleasure, and creativity. 

Common signs of a blocked sacral chakra will be UTIs (urinary tract infections), impotence, and lower back pain. On a more emotional level, you may feel a dip in your self-worth, enjoyment, and creativity. 

Yoga poses to strengthen your sacral chakra are bridge, pigeon, and lizard poses. These open up your hips and work on strengthening your pelvic floor. 

Root (Muladhara)

This chakra can be found near your coccyx, at the base of your spine. The color that corresponds to this chakra is red. The root chakra is associated with grounding, stability, and your physical identity.

If your root chakra is blocked, you are likely to be experiencing constipation, bladder and bowel issues, or arthritis. You may also feel emotionally insecure, financially stretched, or as though you are not meeting your basic needs. 

When your root chakra has been realigned, you will feel grounded and secure. A good way to do this is through yoga poses such as tree, mountain, and warrior poses. These allow you to focus on creating a strong foundation for your body.